TN Supreme Court Justice Holder to Present Inaugural Access to Justice Award

The Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services (TALS) has added the Janice M. Holder Award to it's annual Justice Janice M. HolderAccess to Justice Awards line-up. The Janice M. Holder Award is named in honor of Tennessee Supreme Court Justice Janice M. Holder (pictured at right), who served as the first female chief justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court,  is a passionate leader in Tennessee's Access to Justice initiative, a courageous champion of the rights of the historically marginalized and a dedicated servant to the people of Tennessee. The award recognizes an individual who, like Justice Holder, has advanced the quality of justice statewide, by ensuring that the legal system is open and available to all.

Justice Holder will present the award to the honoree on Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at the Welcome Lunch for this year's Equal Justice University conference. To purchase tickets for the event, click here.

The presentation of the B. Riney Green and New Advocate of the Year Access to Justice Awards will be held on Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at the Access to Justice Awards Dinner. This year's dinner will feature an address by Civil Rights Leader Diane Nash and an the 'We Shall Not Be Moved' exhibit from the Tennessee State Museum, which highlights the student-led civil rights efforts in Tennessee. To purchase tickets to the Welcome Lunch, Access to Justice Awards Dinner or to register for the conference, click here.

To nominate someone for the Janice M. Holder Award, the B. Riney Green Award or New Advocate Award, please visit the Access to Justice Awards webpage. The nomination period for the Access to Justice Awards closes Friday, July 18, 2014.

Last updated on .

Table of Contents


    News & publications

    The news about recent activities for needed peoples.

    More News

    28 Jun 2023

    West Tennessee Legal Services (WTLS) seeks a new Executive Director

    West Tennessee Legal Services (WTLS) seeks a strong strategic planner to serve…

    Continue Reading

    28 Sep 2022

    West Tennessee Legal Services Hiring a Paralegal

    INTAKE/OUTREACH POSITION ANNOUNCEMENT Do you have a passion for helping…

    Continue Reading