B. Riney Green Award: Access to Justice Award


This award is a way to recognize and emphasize the value the access to justice community has for a particular kind of accomplishment – one that promotes state-wide collaboration on a project beyond one organization and strengthens access to justice across the state.


One of the strengths of the provision of legal service in Tennessee has been the historic tradition of working together, across program lines, to address common problems that clients and programs face. To recognize and encourage those efforts, a person who promotes inter-program cooperation or otherwise strengthens the provision of legal aid in Tennessee is annually named the B. Riney Green Award recipient.

B. Riney Green

In the late 1990s B. Riney Green, a Nashville attorney, relentlessly led Tennessee’s effort to prevent the U.S. House and Senate from adopting provisions that would reduce funding to legal services and increase restrictions on legal aid programs. As a corporate lawyer and a Republican, he was a new and credible voice in this effort. He successfully engaged others in his effort and had access to representatives from across the party and ideological spectrum. His efforts in this state not only improved relations with the Congressional delegation, but were essential to the successful national effort to resist these legislative attacks. This award is named to honor his contribution at a critical time in the history of legal services in Tennessee and the nation.


To nominate someone via email, you may submit this form or send a narrative answering the question: What contributions has the nominee made to state-wide collaboration for the benefit of our clients or our programs? If not using the form, please ensure your nomination includes the name of the nominee, their agency and title, and their email address and telephone number along with your contact information. Up to three additional supporting nominations or letters can be submitted by individuals or programs for each nominee. Email your nomination packet to Joy Reed.


The 2020 nomination period is closed.


1999                Bonnie King, Gloria Samuels & Christine Wolfe

2000                Linda Seely & Patti George 

2001                Stewart Clifton, Bill Haley & Mike Murphy 

2002                Pat Mock 

2003                Doug Blaze 

2004                Mary Michelle Gillum 

2005                Jennifer Jean Rosenbaum & Steve Xanthopoulos     

2006                Sherry Wilds 

2007                Frank Cantrell 

2008                Pam Ford Wright & Bill Bush 

2009                Adinah Robertson 

2010                David Tarpley  

2011                Beth Bates & Russ Overby 

2012                Margaret Behm

2013                Gordon Bonnyman & Harrison McIver III

2014                Theresa Vay-Smith

2015                Lenny Croce

2016                Craig Barnes & Russell Fowler

2017                Carol Gish & Ashley Holliday

2018                Marcia Eason & Gary Housepian 

2019               Jeannie Kosciolek

2020               Spring Miller and Emily Stotts


Return to the Access to Justice Awards page.

Return to the Equal Justice University homepage.







B. Riney Green Award: Access to Justice Award

Table of Contents