Past Access to Justice Award Winners

The Janice M. Holder Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to expanding Access to Justice in Tennessee. The recipient of this award is someone who has advanced the quality of justice statewide by ensuring that the legal system is open and available to all. This Access to Justice Award is named in honor of Justice Janice M. Holder who personifies the qualities that this Award recognizes. She served as the first female chief justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court, is a passionate leader in Tennessee's Access to Justice initiative, a courageous champion of the rights of the historically marginalized, and a dedicated servant to the people of this state.

Past Award Recipients include:

2014 George T. "Buck" Lewis

2015 David R. Yoder

2016 Jim Barry & Sharon Ryan

The B. Riney Green Award

This award recognizes and emphasizes the value the access to justice community has for a particular kind of accomplishment – one that promotes inter-program cooperation and strengthens access to justice across the state. In the late 1990s B. Riney Green, a Nashville attorney, relentlessly led Tennessee's effort to prevent the U.S. House and Senate from adopting provisions that would reduce funding to legal services and increase restrictions on legal aid programs. This award is named to honor his contribution at a critical time in the history of legal services in Tennessee and the nation.

Past Award Recipients include:

1999	Bonnie King, Gloria Samuels & Christine Wolfe
2000	Linda Seely & Patti George
2001	Stewart Clifton, Bill Haley & Mike Murphy
2002	Pat Mock
2003	Doug Blaze
2004	Mary Michelle Gillum
2005	Jennifer Jean Rosenbaum & Steve Xanthopoulos
2006	Sherry Wilds
2007	Frank Cantrell
2008	Pam Ford Wright & Bill Bush
2009	Adinah Robertson
2010	David Tarpley
2011	Beth Bates & Russ Overby
2012	Margaret Behm
2013	Gordon Bonnyman & Harrison McIver
2014	Theresa Vay-Smith
2015	Lenny Croce
2016	Craig Barnes & Russell Fowler

New Advocate of the Year Award

This award is recognizes a specific kind of accomplishment: affirmative, creative, effective advocacy (litigation or other activities). It seeks to recognize those who use their legal skills in an active, creative way that produces outstanding benefits for individual clients and the communities in which they live.

Past Award Recipients include:

2006	Sharmila Murphy
2007	Dawn Gerhardt
2008	No Award Given
2009	Craig Barnes & Spring Miller
2010	Katie Evans & Chris Coleman
2011	Shayla Purifoy
2012	Adrienne Kittos
2013	Charity Miles Williams & Emily O'Donnell
2014	Charlie McDaniel
2015	Robert Downs
2016	Zac Oswald

Return to the Access to Justice Awards page.

Return to the Equal Justice University homepage.

Last updated on February 08, 2017.



Table of Contents

NEWS

News & publications

The news about recent activities for needed peoples.

More News

2 Aug 2024

Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services Seeks Part-Time Civil Legal Helpline Staff Attorney

Job SummaryAre you looking for a part-time position where you can serve clients...

Continue Reading

21 Mar 2022

Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services Names New Executive Director

Laura Brown, Deputy Director of Client Services at Legal Aid of Middle...

Continue Reading