Woods to be Honored for “Forging Justice”

KNOXVILLE – Legal Aid of East Tennessee (LAET) hosts its annual Pro Bono celebration Friday, October 20 from 6:00pm to 9:00pm at Ironwood Studios in Knoxville. The event, entitled “Forging Justice,” will honor attorneys and law firms who have made a significant impact in providing civil legal assistance to people who otherwise would not be able to access the justice system.

The highlight of the evening will be the induction of Terry J. Woods into the Donald F. Paine Memorial Pro Bono Hall of Fame. Ms. Woods served at LAET’s Central Region Pro Bono Director from 2000 until her retirement in 2016. In retirement, she continues to serve as a Pro Bono Project volunteer attorney, helping to guarantee access to justice for all members of our community. She will be introduced by Thomas M. Hale, LAET Board Member and partner at Kramer Rayson LLP.

The annual Pro Bono Project Awards will be presented by Knox County Circuit Judge Deborah Stevens. Those to be honored are:

  • Pro Bono Law Student of the Year – Tyler Sims, UT College of Law
  • Pro Bono Community Partner of the Year – Volunteer Ministry Center (VMC).
  • Pro Bono Attorney of the Year – Cheryl Rice (Egerton McAffee, Armistead & Davis)
  • Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year – London & Amburn, Attorneys at Law

Keith Burroughs, Knoxville Bar Association President-Elect, will recognize attorneys who have performed at least 25 and 50 hours of volunteer service through the Pro Bono Project.

The evening includes a silent auction, heavy hors d'oeuvres, and entertainment by local attorneys Roman Reese and Michael Davis.

Tickets are $45 per person, available at www.laet.org or at the door. Ironwood Studios is located at 119 Jennings Avenue in Knoxville. For more information, contact Dr. Kathryn Ellis, LAET’s Pro Bono Project Director at (865) 637-0484.

Legal Aid of East Tennessee’s mission is to ensure justice for elderly, abused, and low-income people by providing a broad scope of civil legal assistance and advocacy. LAET serves eligible persons in 26 counties through offices in Chattanooga, Cleveland, Knoxville, Johnson City, Maryville, and Morristown.

Posted: October 13, 2017