New Advocate of the Year Award: Access to Justice Award


The New Advocate of the Year Award recognizes those who use their legal skills in an active, creative way that produces outstanding benefits for individual clients and the communities in which they live. Eligible nominees are attorneys and paralegals who work with a provider (LSC or non-LSC funded) of civil legal aid to low-income people, who have been employed by their program less than five years. 


To nominate someone click here to complete the form and provide a narartive that describes specific examples of the kind of affirmative, energetic, effective advocacy that this award seeks to recognize. Please be advised, this award is not just a “good person” award, but recognizes a specific kind of accomplishment: affirmative, creative, effective advocacy (litigation or other activities). If appropriate, feel free to attach up to three documents supporting the nomination, such as additional nomination letters, news articles, opinions, client comments, commendations, etc.

Email your supporting documentation to Judy Fazi.


The nomination period for the 2022 awards has closed.

Past Award Winners

2021                Wesley Dozier & Alexandra Rogers


2020                Danielle Woods


2019                Lucy Boateng & Benjamin Danford


2018                Vanessa Bullock


2017                Christina Magrans-Tillery


2016                Zac Oswald


2015                Robert Downs


2014                Charles E. McDaniel II


2013                Charity Miles Williams & Emily O’Donnell


2012                Adrienne Kittos


2011                Shayla Purifoy


2010                Katie Evans & Chris Coleman


2009                Craig Barnes & Spring Miller


2008                No Award Given


2007                Dawn Gerhardt


2006                McKenna Cox & Sharmila Murphy


Return to the Access to Justice Awards page.

Return to the Equal Justice University homepage.


New Advocate of the Year Award: Access to Justice Award

Table of Contents