New Advocate of the Year Award: Access to Justice Award


The New Advocate of the Year Award recognizes those who use their legal skills in an active, creative way that produces outstanding benefits for individual clients and the communities in which they live. Eligible nominees are attorneys and paralegals who work with a provider (LSC or non-LSC funded) of civil legal aid to low-income people, who have been employed by their program less than five years. 


To nominate someone you may use this form or you may submit a narrative that includes the nominee’s name, program, the date they began with their program, and specific examples of the kind of affirmative, energetic, effective advocacy that this award seeks to recognize. Please be advised, this award is not just a “good person” award, but recognizes a specific kind of accomplishment: affirmative, creative, effective advocacy (litigation or other activities). If appropriate, feel free to attach any documents supporting the nomination, such as news articles, opinions, client comments, commendations, etc.

If you are not using the nomination form to make your nomination, please be sure to include contact information for yourself and the nominee. Up to three additional supporting nominations or letters can be submitted by individuals or programs for each nominee. Please refrain from supporting or encouraging nominations via listserv or other public forums. Email your nomination packet to Joy Reed.


The 2020 nomination period is closed.

Past Award Winners

2006                McKenna Cox and Sharmila Murphy

2007                Dawn Gerhardt

2008                No Award Given

2009                Craig Barnes & Spring Miller

2010                Katie Evans & Chris Coleman

2011                Shayla Purifoy

2012                Adrienne Kittos

2013                Charity Miles Williams & Emily O'Donnell

2014                Charles E. McDaniel II

2015                Robert Downs

2016                Zac Oswald

2017                Christina Magrans-Tillery

2018                Vanessa Bullock 

2019                Lucy Boateng & Benjamin Danford

2020                Danielle Woods


Return to the Access to Justice Awards page.

Return to the Equal Justice University homepage.


New Advocate of the Year Award: Access to Justice Award

Table of Contents